ESP Awards for Excellence in Photobiological Research

On the occasion of the biennial congress, the Executive Committee of the ESP awards a medal to distinguished scientists whose research achievements in Photobiology are internationally acknowledged as outstanding and who have given crucial contributions to ESP activities.

2017 Silvia E. Braslavsky, Miguel A. Miranda, Joan E. Roberts
2015 Vivienne E. Reeve, Evelyne Sage
2013 Kristian Berg, Francesco Ghetti
2011 Jacques Piette, Antony R. Young
2009 Stanley B. Brown, Donat-Peter Häder
2007 Janet F. Bornman, Herbert Hönigsmann
2005 Jean Cadet, Roy H. Pottier
2003 Rex M. Tyrrel, Jan van der Leun
2001 Giulio Jori, Francesco Lenci
1999 Johan Moan, T. George Truscott
1997 Kurt Schaffner, Pill-Soon Song
1995 Brian Johnson, Paul Mathis
1993 Claude Rimington
1991 Hartmut Michel
1989 John D. Spikes, László Szalay
1987 David Shugar, Kendric C. Smith

ESP Young Investigator Award

ESP awards a medal to young researchers (under age 35), who have conducted original research of exceptionally high quality in fields related to photobiology. The awardee is selected by the ESP Education and Training Committee among nominated candidates. The award is presented during the ESP congress, where the awardee gives the opening lecture.

2017 Ilaria Testa
2015 Alex R. Jones
2013 Katie M. Dixon, Abhishek Garg
2011 Scott Byrne
2009 Cristina Flors, Gonzalo Cosa
2007 Virginie Lhiaubet-Vallet
2005 Jean-Yves Matroule
2003 Christoph Abels